Food, glorious food! 

Have been looking into post op nutrition today. I’m pretty good when it comes to eating but I wanted to know exactly the types of foods that will give a boost to my recovery and aid my body with the healing process. I really enjoyed reading about this today and definitely learnt a few things!

I thought I’d make a list of the things that’ll aid recovery, I shall be taking this change on for the rest of my life! One thing I did read was that it’s about a lifestyle change post op to make sure that you get the best out of life and don’t have issues with weight gain.

Protein – Repairs damaged/moved/manipulated muscle and muscle tissue.  Chicken, turkey, eggs, seafood

Fibre – stops discomfort from constipation.                                                           Whole grain bread, brown pasta, fruit, veg, flaxseed

Healthy fats – improves immune response and aids body absorption of vitamins also boosts energy without causing constipation.                           Olive oil, coconut oil, avacados, seeds and nuts

Probiotics – Painkillers and meds wreak havoc on your bowels so probiotics will help regulate the gastrointestinal system.                             Yogurt, low fat cottage cheese.

Vit A – Foods with beta carotene (or Pro Vit A)  the body converts into Vit A, it boosts the immune system and cell growth. It maintains soft tissue and skin and fights possible infection.                                                                      Sweet potato, carrots, kale, cantaloupe, mango

Vit C – helps soft tissue and collagen. Stress depletes Vit C stores so will need extra post op!                                                                                             Citrus fruits, peppers, strawberries, kiwi, pink grapefruit

Vit E – Healing of wounds and scar tissue.                                                             Almonds

Iron – creates new blood cells – bounce back!                                                   Beans – red kidney beans, black beans

Zinc – helps immune system function, good for healing and energy.            Pumpkin, squash, sesame seeds, nuts

Foods with Phytoestrogens (plant compounds with weak estrogen effects) – may help prevent conditions related to the loss of estrogen after menopause. Heart and vascular disease, great cancer, osteoporosis.            Soy milk, tofu, edamame, flaxseed, whole grain

Water – plenty of it! Maintains hydration, minimises nausea, fatigue, light headedness. Also helps with constipation and flushes the body out.

Foods not to eat! (Even though when you’re low, I know you crave this stuff!) Processed foods, milk/dairy, red meat, sweets/cakes. This is mainly because they will not help with constipation!!

I will also make sure I have prunes in a morning – keeps you regular! 😉 I’ve heard a lot about “wind” issues and I know from previous surgery that trapped wind hurts!!

I will say, all of the above is a lot of what I eat daily anyway, so it won’t be a huge change, but it’s been good to learn what foods will do to help my body recover.

I’ll also double check with my consultant that there are no foods I need to keep away from! You never know?!?!

A very positive day today 🙂

Leave a Reply

